United Arab Emirates

The UAE is a federation of seven emirates – Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Quwain.  In 2013, the UAE’s population was 9.2 million, of which 1.4 million are Emirati citizens and 7.8 million are expatriates.   Islam is the official religion of the UAE and Arabic is the official language (although English is the language of business and education particularly in Abu Dhabi and Dubai).

The climate of the UAE is subtropical-arid with hot summers and warm winters. The hottest months are July and August, when average maximum temperatures reach above 45 °C.

Being an Islamic country the UAE is governed by Sharia law, so things like public displays of affection, homosexuality and drinking in public are illegal.  One should always be vigilant to respect the laws of foreign countries, however Dubai is so heavily geared towards tourism that I didn’t feel at any time restricted by the laws.

Read below about my time in Dubai: